AEV announces Ian Taylor as vice-chair following its AGM

30 September 2022 Becky Humphries

Following the Association of Event Venues' (AEV) annual general meeting last Wednesday, September 21, 2022, the association has announced four changes to the composition of the AEV board, including the new chair and vice-chair.

Placehold Image

Max Bull, executive director of venue sales, BDC, has stepped down as AEV chair after two years in the role, and Shaun Hinds, managing director of Manchester Central, has been elected the new AEV chair. Bull was later re-elected as an ordinary board member.

Ian Taylor, managing director, conventions & exhibitions, NEC Group, has been appointed the new vice-chair, and Rowan Kitching, director of catering and events, The Honourable Artillery Company, has been elected as a board member.

In addition to Bull, the following members were re-elected to the board: Alison Griffin, managing director, Telford International Centre; Kerry Villa, director of events and operations, ACC Liverpool; Dan Thurlow, director of exhibition sales, Scottish Event Campus; and Andy Gibb, group sales and marketing director, Stadium MK.

Bull, who has served in the role since 2020, said, "I am proud to have been able to chair the AEV through the most challenging time our industry has ever faced and I am looking forward to supporting Shaun Hinds as he continues the work and continued growth of our outstanding association.

"We made significant developments over the past two years," Bull concluded, "including the Government Engagement Strategy, government-backed insurance, pilot events to ensure the safe reopening of the sector, and we have grown our membership to its highest level in its 18-year history. I am exceptionally thankful to the AEV team which has demonstrated the true value of this association and the power of face-to-face, and what our industry can do together with a single voice."

Hinds, the new AEV chair, and former vice-chair, said, “It’s a real privilege to be able to work alongside esteemed colleagues from across the events industry as chair of the AEV and I'm delighted to welcome Ian as vice-chair and Rowan from The HAC to the board as well. Together we aim to support the industry and help to raise awareness of the sector’s fantastic achievements and tremendous contribution to the UK’s economy. Alongside this, we will be lobbying on crucial topics to alleviate pressures as much as possible on behalf of member organisations."

Taylor, the new vice-chair, added: “Trade body representation that expresses the power of live events is invaluable to venues across the UK, ensuring that our £11 billion industry remains firmly on government agendas. Our new AEV board will continue to spearhead causes that are important to us and support a culture of collaboration and shared best practice.”

Rachel Parker, AEV director, welcomed Hinds and Taylor saying, "It gives me great pleasure to welcome Shaun and Ian as the new AEV chair and vice. Their knowledge and experience have been great assets to the AEV board and I have no doubt that their insight and strategic vision will be instrumental in the progress made by the AEV in the future."

Parker concluded, "I would also like to thank Max Bull, who has helped steer the association through the challenges of the past two years."